Rainbow Maker: Ink blending & Stamping

Hi crafty friends! I am taking my first class at Online Card Classes – Rainbow Maker and I’m really enjoying it so far! I love rainbows, but they sort of elude me in the craft room. I’m learning a lot and it’s been just the thing to get me out of my card making funk.

So today I have a couple of cards that I’ve made based on the first two lessons. For the first card, I did some ink blending (something else that seems to elude me) using a stencil I made using the lightbulb die and stamps from the Shine Brighter set from Concord & 9th.

Untitled

I used Distress Inks (Festive Berries and Broken China) and a dye ink from My Favorite Things (Daffodil) for the blending, creating the purple and green. I stamped the bulb outline and base and sentiment over the blended area and then added a few sequins.

For the second card, I did some rainbow stamping using the Give Thanks stamp set, aso from Concord & 9th. I CASed a couple of their sample cards (because, come one, they’re gorgeous) and alternated the long leaf along an A2 sized panel of Neenah solar white (80lb).

Rainbow thanks

After the first layer of ink was dry, I stamped the details using the previous leaf’s color (purple on top of pink, pink on top of orange, etc). I didn’t worry too much about lining the detail stamps up perfectly with the base stamp – in some cases, a slight offset was the only way to really see the second color (I’m looking at you blue and aqua). I stamped the sentiment with Versafine Onyx Black and heat embossed it with clear powder. I added a few rainbow sequins and some coordinating embroidery floss.

I’m really looking forward to the next lesson and many more raingbows! Thanks for joining me today!

Thank you so much for your comments!

