Inspired by #52 and Where Creativity Meets C9 #8

Hi friends! Today I have two one layer cards featuring stamps from Concord & 9th. Both of these cards were created using just the card base, with no additional paper layers.

Untitled

(Background paper is Garden Tea Party floral wrapping paper from Paper Source.)

First up, I have a one layer card using the large floral stamp from Hello Lovely and the large background stripe stamp from Stripe Builder.

Untitled

First I stamped the floral stamp down in the corner, using Versamark ink, and then embossed with gold powder.  Then I made a mask, which let me tell you, now I understand why they call it “fussy cutting”. With the mask in place, I stamped the stripes in black ink (Lawn Fawn). Where the stripes should have been behind the floral spray, but weren’t due to the mask, I filled in with a black brush marker, which thankfully matched the Lawn Fawn ink perfectly.  Next, I stamped and embossed the sentiments in gold to match the floral spray. Finally I added a few enamel dots for embellishment.

52I’m entering this card into the latest Inspired by all the Little Things challenge. I was inspired by the striped rain coat, black & white scene, and the small pops of bright lights.

Since I went to the trouble of cutting out that mask, I decided to make a second one layer card using the floral stamp from Hello Lovely.

Untitled

For this card, I stamped in the upper left corner, lay down the mask, and then stamped again in the upper right. I should note that I only partially inked the stamp the second time because I didn’t want the floral spray extending too far down the card. Pro tip: Make sure your stamp is completely dry after cleaning and before positioning in your stamp platform. I ended up with diluted grey ink smudging my card before I stamped the second time. To correct that, I smooshed some of that ink onto my craft mat, spritzed it, and flicked it over my card with a paintbrush. Happy accident. I finished the card with an embossed sentiment from the Give Thanks set, some black and white string, and some enamel dots that provide the only color on this card.
challenge8I’m entering this card into the latest Where Creativity Meets C9 challenge, which is “one layer” cards.

Thanks for stopping by today!

 

 

 

 

 

winnerbadge_wcmc9

Update: I was the challenge winner at WCMC9! Thank you all so much for the wonderful comments!

14 thoughts on “Inspired by #52 and Where Creativity Meets C9 #8

  1. Karen Day says:

    Wendie – your cards are really lovely – I’m just amazed at how you did the stripes! Thanks for joining our challenge this week at Inspired By All The Little Things!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Karen B. says:

    Woah, these are stunning! Just stunning! I love them both and such an awesome use of white, gold and black! Thank you so much for playing along with the Where Creativity Meets C9 Challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Betty says:

    your win at Concord & 9th is so well deserved, Wendie – such a fantastic card – love both of them and will look forward to you GD spot!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jennifer L. says:

    Congrats on your win on the C9 challenge. Both cards are lovely cards! I’m very impressed that you fussy cut that floral spray. : )

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.