Mama Elephant Lil’ Painters

Hi friends! Today I have two cards to share with you using the new Lil’ Painters set from Mama Elephant. I absolutely adore this set. The two cards I made don’t even look like they came from the same set, actually, and that’s kinda why I love it – so much possibility! Also, bunnies wearing berets and painting? Yes please!

Untitled

Let’s start with those bunnies!

To keep the card mostly one layer, I used masking to create my scene. I started off positioning the bunny stamp using my MISTI and placing the palette and paintbrush in its paws. Then I removed the bunny and stamped. I masked with a post-it note and fussy cut the shapes. Then I stamped the bunny and the easel. To get the bunny onto the “canvas”, I made a sort of reverse mask – I stamped the easel onto a post-it and cut out the canvas to make a hole. I positioned that around the canvas and then stamped the bunny onto the canvas. I painted the scene with Distress Markers. I think the bunny is a better painter than I am.

Untitled

I wanted to keep the embellishments to a minimum, so I chose to add just a teeny tiny little bit of clear Nuvo crystal drops on the palette paint and the tube paint. Then I deposited a bit of Mermaid Lagoon Distress Marker on an acrylic block, added a little water, and then with a paint brush, flicked it onto the watercolor panel.

The sentiment is from the Some Bunny I Love set from My Favorite Things. For the trim, I used some scrap watercolor paper and did an ombre wash with Distress Markers in Mermaid Lagoon and Tumbled Glass.

Untitled

For the next card, I used the chicks and eggs to create a fun “welcome spring” card. Here in the Midwest, spring has sprung. Ish. Trees are already budding, and my one tulip is coming up. It was 70 degrees on Friday, and then it snowed yesterday. Sigh. So I need this card! Excuse me while I go address an envelope to myself.

Untitled

In addition to the eggs and chicks, I used the Hollow Letters stamps to make my own sentiment. To color this card, I used Zig Clean Color Real Brush markers and a water brush. For the letters, I blended green and yellow, using the yellow to do the actual blending. The blue eggs, now that I’m thinking of it, I used a blue from the Zig Kuretake Gansai Tambi line, but for the life of me, I don’t know which one. Helpful, I know.

Untitled

I have a few more ideas for this set so this probably won’t be the last you see of it here. Hope you enjoyed the first two! Thanks so much for stopping by.

One thought on “Mama Elephant Lil’ Painters

Comments are closed.