With love in my heart

Valentine’s Day is upon us. My husband and I have decided to give each other the gift of take-out for dinner and catching up on our stories (The Expanse, likely) or watching hockey. I will probably knit. The dogs will snuggle with us on the couch and most definitely start snoring. Idyllic, if you ask this introvert.

When I sat down at my desk yesterday, I was really stuck for ideas. I scanned through the challenge blogs I follow looking for inspiration and was coming up empty. It happens. Second pass, a few small ideas started surfacing. Finally I settled on an idea for the latest challenge at Where Creativity Meets C9. Love is this month’s theme.

challenge6

Here is my card:

Untitled

I started off by die-cutting a heart out of watercolor paper. Then I trimmed a piece of card stock down to A2 size. (By the way, My Favorite Things’ Whip Cream card stock is a perfect color match to most of the watercolor paper I’ve used.) Then, using my MISTI, I positioned the heart onto the panel and held it in place with a magnet. Using stamps from the Wildflowers set from C9 and Papertrey Ink’s Soft Stone ink, I stamped an arrangement of flowers so that they fell off the edge of the heart.

Untitled

Then I used Distress Markers (Candied Apple and Worn Lipstick, my favorites) and a water brush to paint just the petals on the heart. I love these two shades of red together. I used both colors on the larger petals, and just Worn Lipstick on the smaller petals.

The sentiments are from the Give Thanks set, with a slight modification: I wanted the “l” in love to be bigger, so I inked up just the “ove” part, and then used the larger “l” from the Sophisticated Scrip letter set. It was almost seamless, but I was just a touch off in my positioning. Illustrator pen to the rescue! Finally, I mounted the panel to a top-folding A2 card base.

Untitled

I hope to have another Valentine’s Day card (or Galentine’s Day, in this case) later this week. I just need to get it in mail to my “gal”. Don’t want to spoil it!

Thanks for stopping by!

4 thoughts on “With love in my heart

Comments are closed.