Waffle Flower Bear & Bird

Here are a couple of things I love: whimsy and watercolor. I am trying to fill my days with as much of both as I can lately.

Today I have a card using the Bear & Bird stamp set from Waffle Flower. Waffle Flower is a new to me company and I love everything from their latest release. I particularly adore this set. That adorable bear (which could easily be turned into a kitty, actually), and that little bird!

Untitled

To make this card, I stamped the bear & bird, present, and floral bits onto watercolor paper cut down to A2 size, using Antique Linen Distress Ink. Antique Linen is a great ink color for no-line watercoloring because it’s so easy to cover with any color paint or water-reactive ink. Then I painted the image using Gansai Tambi watercolors, which are my favorite pan watercolors. Then I used a scalloped edge die from My Favorite Things to trim the bottom of the panel. I took another piece of watercolor paper and stamped and painted a small floral image from the same stamp set to make a patterned background.

Untitled

I sketched out the sentiment, borrowing copying the sentiment included in the set. I love puns. Anyway, I filled it in using an black lining pen (0.3 mm) to give it a hand lettered look. Btw, “birthday” is not really smudged. I’ve been using the portrait mode on my iPhone, and it does weird things as it applies that fake depth of field. Like smudging things.

Anyway, that’s it. Thanks for looking. I hope this card brought some whimsy to your day.

