Like No Otter

Untitled

Hi everyone! Today I have a card using the Otterly Love You set from My Favorite Things. You know what one of my favorite things is? Otters.

To create this one-layer card, I used a no-line watercoloring technique along with some masking. I stamped my raft (!!!) of otters starting from the bottom and using, masking paper (from Inkadinkadoo) that I had cut into the shape of each otter I needed to cover, worked my way up to cover the bottom third or so of the watercolor paper. I used Distress Ink in Antique Linen, since it blends nicely with browns. Once they were all placed (which probably took more time than actually coloring), I started filling them in using Distress Markers (in Hickory Smoke and Vintage Photo for the otters, Tumbled Glass for the water, and some Candied Apple for the heart. Hey can we talk about that otter holding the heart? Seriously. )

Untitled

I posted a time-lapse video of coloring these little guys on Instagram if you want to see a little of how I approached it. Layers layers layers.

After I finished coloring the otters, I colored in the heart and then added some watery shadowing to complete the composition.  Then I stamped the sentiment (so many great otter puns to choose from), scored and folded the watercolor paper, and there you have it.

Untitled

I think I otter go cook some dinner now. Thanks for swimming by!

