Howdy lovely

Hi friends! Today I have a card for the latest challenge at Where Creativity Meets C9. This month’s challenge is to try something new. No problem!

challenge5

Here’s my card:

Untitled

For the something “new,” I decided to try my hand at some hand-lettering. I penciled in my “howdy” first so I could figure out the layout. Then I used the the Hello Lovely stamp set (new fave!), stamping the floral motif using Distress Ink in Antique Linen, so I could do some no line water coloring. I used Distress Markers (Abandoned Coral, Candied Apple, Twisted Citron, Evergreen Bough, Wild Honey, Tumbled Glass, and Broken China) and a paintbrush to paint the image. Once everything was dry, I used a brush pen (I forget the brand, and I’m comfortable and don’t want to get up to find it) and very carefully filled in the sentiment. I’ve pretty much never hand lettered anything before, so I just took my time, practiced on some scrap, and basically treated it like eyeliner – start out thin and go back and fill. Then I took some loosened black watercolor paint and flicked it all over the place. After everything was dry, I slapped it on a card panel, et voilà.

Untitled

Originally I thought about doing a negative space block “hello”, but I was kind of amused by the idea of using “howdy” against such a delicate background.

Thanks for stopping by!

6 thoughts on “Howdy lovely

  1. Lindsey L says:

    Wow!!! I would have thought you were a hand-lettering expert! I can’t believe that is your new element. This is amazing! Everything on this card is just perfect and so beautifully done. I’m so thrilled you joined us for our Where Creativity Meets C9 Try Something New Challenge!

    Like

Comments are closed.