Color Throwdown #424

So, hello 2017. Resolution #1: Post more often on the blog. Post on the blog.

How are you? Are you recovering from the holidays? I love the Christmas season, but I secretly look forward to put everything away and getting my house back. It’s time to clean all the things and start fresh for the new year.

And with the new year comes new card challenges! So let’s get to it. Today I have a card for the latest Color Throwdown.
swatch424

Here’s my card:

Untitled

I used the Give Thanks stamps and dies from Concord & 9th. I’ve had this set for a little while, but this is the first time I’ve really used it.

I used the heart shaped leaf die and cut to cut out four hearts from a panel of black cardstock. I stamped the “with love in my” sentiments and embossed them in white, and then stamped additional “love”s and embossed them in clear for a tone on tone look. On a panel of watercolor paper (smooth side), I colored the hearts with pink and lime green Tombow dual brush markers and blended them out with a water brush.

Then I glued the leaf veins from the die cuts and fixed them off-center for each heart. I went over the veins with some clear Wink of Stella. In retrospect, I probably should’ve done that before I glued them to the card. But, hey. I like to live dangerously.

I mounted the black panel to the watercolor panel with foam tape for some dimension and then adhered it to my card base.

Then I marveled at how I managed not to make a grievous mistake at the last possible moment and quickly took a picture before I, like, tore it or something.

Untitled

That’s it for today. Thanks for stopping by and have a happy New Year.

3 thoughts on “Color Throwdown #424

  1. amy rohl says:

    So much to love here! The heart die cuts, the embossing and the peeks of pink and green. Fabulous! Thank you playing along with us at CTD this week!

    Like

  2. Vickie Z says:

    Fun card! Love the naked background and those cut out black hearts… Very contemporary! So glad you joined us at CTD!!

    Like

Comments are closed.