Obsessed: C9’s You’re My Person

It’s Friday night and I’m writing this while my husband flips between the NHL draft and the Blue Jays game. It’s all sportsball to me, so let’s talk about cards.

I have been making cards with Concord & 9th’s You’re My Person set all week. I don’t think I’ve made so many cards with a single set before. But it’s been really fun to think of different ways to use that pretty bouquet of wildflowers.

I tried to use different techniques for each card, instead of defaulting to my beloved watercolor. For the first card, it’s all stamping. I filled the panel by stamping the bouquet four times. Then I filled each flower or leaf with the solid stamps, which I seriously can’t believe I managed to line those up properly each time. Took an entire morning! I used the companion Thinking of You die from the bundle for the sentiment, cutting it on both black and white cardstock and then layering them slightly offset to make it stand out.

Untitled

For the next card, I decided to emboss the bouquet with silver  powder onto black cardstock and color it with Prismacolor pencils. I love how they look on black paper, especially that turquoise. I love the sentiment on this one too.

Untitled

For the third card, I embossed with gold powder onto watercolor paper. At first, I thought I would paint a soft background and then fill in the flowers in a monochromatic fashion. But as I was painting, I decided to just paint the background, so I kept adding layers to make those flowers pop. I struggled with what to do next. I had cut the fishtail and immediately regretted that decision (all that work!). What to do, what to do, nothing looked right. And then I though, oh use the larger wildflowers to make a coordinating background! It’s not exactly what I envisioned, but I like it.

Untitled

For the last card I decided to just use the solid stamps to make a more CAS card. I layered it with a watercolor striped background I made earlier.

Untitled

I want to make, like, a million more cards with this set. I just love it.

Thanks for stopping by and have a great weekend!

3 thoughts on “Obsessed: C9’s You’re My Person

Comments are closed.