Just Add Ink #314

Hi everyone! And thank you all for the wonderful comments on my last (seems like forever ago) post – really made my day! I hit a creative wall and didn’t make any cards in over a week. I know, right?! I was finally able to shake it off this weekend and made several cards.

Today I’m going to share a card I made for the Just Add Ink #314 challenge. Here is the inspiration photo:

JAI314Inspiration

And here is what I came up:

Untitled

As you can tell, this is another “watercolor” + Concord & 9th card. Sorry, not sorry!

I used the citrus wedge from Concord & 9th’s Hugs stamp set and stamped it in a repeating pattern with VersaFine Black pigment ink and then heat embossed it with clear powder. Then I used some inks smooshed onto my craft mat as my watercolors for the background: Papertrey Ink’s Pure Poppy (ink refill), Berry Sorbet, and Brilliant Buttercup. If I were to do this card again, I think I’d use an actual watercolor pigment for the yellow, or maybe a Zig watercolor marker; the yellow came out more diluted than I was aiming for.  I went back with some additional Pure Poppy and colored in a few of the wedges.

Untitled

Then I stamped the sentiment (also from the Hugs set) with VersaFine and again clear heat embossed it. I die cut it out as a circle and adhered it to the panel with some craft foam. Then I decided it needed something and wanted to color in the drops, but I had already cleaned up my craft mat, so what’s a crafter to do? I grabbed my Zig watercolor markers, in red and black, and blended them on some scrap watercolor paper using the Zig blender. Then I took the red marker and picked up that blended color and added it to the drops. Almost a perfect match to the wedges. And the markers cleaned up just fine with some additional use on the scrap paper.

Untitled

That’s it for now, thanks for stopping by!

6 thoughts on “Just Add Ink #314

  1. Jan M says:

    Oh wow! Your background stamping and inking is totally gorgeous and your fabulous sentiment so made me smile! I love everything about this card! Thanks for sharing with us at Just Add Ink this week 🙂

    Like

  2. Kim Badelt says:

    The colours are bold and so is the pattern – very eye catching and so is that fun sentiment – just perfect! Thanks for joining us at Just Add Ink this week.

    Like

  3. chantell16 says:

    Fantastic – I love this. It looks good enough to eat (or drink), makes me think of a yummy Raspberry cordial……Chantell JAI

    Like

  4. Rochelle Blok says:

    Just gorgeous! Love the repeated stamping of the citrus wedge and the watercolour background. The colours are so bright and fun! Thanks for playing along this week at Just Add Ink. Rochelle xo

    Like

Comments are closed.