Inspired by…#16

Hi everyone! Thank you all SO much for the kind comments on my last post. I had so much fun with the last Inspired by challenge that I’m jumping in again for this week’s challenge. Check it out over at Inspired by All the Little Things! Here’s the inspiration image:ib16

I took inspiration from colors and the patina, as well as the depths – the open door and the portholes (what are those? haha!). So here’s what I came up with:

Untitled

I washed a piece of watercolor paper with a pale blue-green. While it was still wet, I took a paper towel and dragged it up the paper to mimic the vertical lines and patina I saw in the wall in the inspiration photo. After it was dry, I added a layer of blue with a damp flat brush.

Untitled

Then I die cut the You’ve got this sentiment from Concord & 9th. I cut the sentiment a few more times out of some white card stock, but only used the “got” for layering. I liked the little pops of yellow in the photo, so I blended some yellow ink (PTI’s Bright Buttercup) onto the top “got” layer and glued them all together; it’s held in place with some inconspicuous foam tape. Added just a few sequins and stopped while I was ahead ๐Ÿ™‚

Untitled

Thanks for stopping by. I hope you like my take on the inspiration photo. And if you’re not already playing along, I hope you join the challenge!

7 thoughts on “Inspired by…#16

  1. Keeway T says:

    How great is this card?!!! I LOVE IT. Really love the underlaying wash, and then the overlay of blue to really make those words pop. Just perfect. Lovely take on the inspiration!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cheri Burry says:

    Love your take on the inspiration! Your background technique is so cool! And that pop of yellow sets it all off! Thanks for playing along with us over at Inspired By All The Little Things!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Karen Day says:

    This is lovely! When I chose the inspiration photo, I was hoping we’d see some wonderful painted backgrounds – and your card doesn’t disappoint!! Thanks for joining us again this week at Inspired By :o)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sheri Gilson says:

    Very cool card! Fabulous take on this weeks inspiration photo! Thanks so much for playing along with us at Inspired By All The Little Things!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. marciesharp says:

    I love how you were inspired by the picture. Really though, what ARE those things in the wall? Portholes? lol Thanks for playing with us at Inspired by All the Little Things.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.