MFT Forest Friends

Untitled

Hi everyone and happy Crafturday!

Today I have a card using the Forest Friends set from My Favorite Things. I don’t own this set – it’s part of the “divide and conquer” strategy of purchasing I have with my CFF (craft friend forever). This tends to backfire more often than not. Sometimes when I see the previews during release countdowns, I think, oh that’s really cute, but is it too cute? Would I get enough use out of it? My CFF often gets those sets, and then I borrow them and promptly kick myself for not getting them too. This is one of those sets.

Untitled

For this card, I was inspired by my own “urban forest”. I live in an older neighborhood with a beautiful canopy of trees and lots of wildlife. Raccoons instead of foxes, and bunnies instead of deer, and lots of squirrels and owls. And sometimes they come up right to our windows and on to the porch, so I thought it would be cute to have the forest critters peeking out from behind the panel like they’re looking through the window. So I cut the center out using my new favorite go-to stitched dies and set it aside. Then I took the trees, acorns, and leaf stamps and created a black and white background. Then I stamped a group of critters and colored them with Copics. Using the stamped background panel as a guide, I adhered the middle panel to a piece of wood grain patterned paper and then mounted the background panel using foam tape. Then I stamped and cut the sentiment and adhered it, also with foam tape. And I’m just now noticing that it’s a different shade of white. Ha!

The squirrel in particular reminds me of the little squirrel friend that often appears on the other side of my craft room window and taunts my cats. Ollie tries to jump up there and smack the glass, comically falling down in the process. And the squirrel and I just laugh and laugh.

That’s it for now. Have a great weekend!

One thought on “MFT Forest Friends

Comments are closed.