Color Throwdown #389

Untitled

Hi everyone! Today I have a card for the Color Throwdown #389 challenge using pink, green, and orange. P.S. These are not colors I use together very often, so going a bit out of my comfort zone with this one.

Of course, I had to break out one a new purchase – Super Succulents from Papertrey Ink. And I actually didn’t have the “right” green or orange in my ink collection, so I made them (which is why no two are exactly the same). Betsy Veldman just did a post on experimenting with layering ink colors, and ever inspired, I set out to expand my ink palette.

Untitled

For all the colors you see on this card, I used Papertrey Ink dye inks. The pink is Hibiscus Burst. The orange was made by layering Hibiscus Burst over Bright Buttercup, and the green was made by layering Bright Buttercup over Aqua Mist. Since these were new stamps, I applied Versamark ink first to “prime” the stamp surface. Also, I used the MISTI tool to ensure a nice clean image each time. (For reference – that large pink succulent took two impressions for full coverage, even with priming, but I think my ink pad is getting a little dry.)

Side note: the order in which you layer your colors does make a difference. When I was playing on scrap paper, I tried each combination both ways and the greens and oranges I got were just noticeably different. Also, the colors lightened up considerably upon drying, so if it doesn’t look right, just wait a few minutes and look at it again. I found this particularly true with the greens.

Untitled

After I finished stamping, I die cut “hello” and “friend” (dies from My Favorite Things) from the panel as well as two more times from white card stock and adhered the layers together. I found some perfectly matching green ribbon in my stash that I am pretty sure is about 13 years old and wrapped it around the panel underneath the”friend” to make it really stand out. I adhered the panel and die-cut layers back into place on a card base, et voila. Hello friend.

That’s it for today, thanks for stopping by!

