Make It Monday #246: Faux brush lettering

Untitled

Hi everyone! This week’s Make It Monday Challenge from Papertrey Ink was faux brush lettering, a technique that lends itself well to water color, markers, etc. I went the water color route with this card.

I stamped the Oh Happy Day sentiment from the Paper Clippings: Happy Day set using Hawaiian Shores ink. Then, with a #2 brush and ink smushed on some palette paper, I went back over the sentiment, first with another coat of Hawaiian Shores, and then with some Tropical teal to add depth.

Untitled

I repeated the process with the stamped flowers and vines. The yellow flowers were done in Bright Buttercup, and the red flowers were done in Berry Sorbet and Pure Poppy.

Untitled

I think this card could have used a little something extra, but as this was my third attempt, I decided to put my brush down and just. walk. away.

Thanks for the fun technique, Amy! I’m looking forward to trying this one again.

Thanks for stopping by!

