Simon Says Stamp April Card Kit

Untitled

Woohoo! Three posts in one week! Thanks post-scheduling thingy!

Today I have a couple of cards to share with you using the (sold out)  April 2016 card kit from Simon Says Stamp. For the first card, I was inspired by one of the cards on the inspiration sheet (funny how that works) included in the kit. I really loved how the designer, Suzy, created the water color custom background look on her card, so I tracked down her blog post about it and set about trying it myself.

Untitled

I applied distress ink (festive berries, and I can’t remember which blue – mermaid lagoon, maybe?) ink to the outside edge of the stamps and stamped the image onto watercolor paper. Then I used a water brush to pull the color in and fill the image. Suzy has some beautiful examples. I really enjoyed this technique. Yay craft community sharing its talents!

For the next card, I challenged myself to use the papers and embellishments from the kit.

Untitled

Seriously. I had to double dog dare myself. I am not an embellishment girl. I just don’t love them. I’m fine with the occasional ribbon or thread accent. Maybe a wood veneer sticker here and there. But I prefer to just say no to cute stickers and clips and such. There’s nothing wrong with them, they’re just not my style. For this card? I used three (THREE) stickers AND a clip thingy. Wha?

Untitled

And you know? It turned out cuter than I thought it would. This kit has a lot of scrapbook-friendly things in it. It leads to cards that are busier than I generally like, but it’s good to try new things. Right? Right.

