Oh Happy Day

Untitled

Hi everyone! Today I’m sharing a card I made awhile ago with the Paper Clippings: Oh Happy Day set from Papertrey Ink.

I thought I’d play up a chalkboard effect, so I stamped and embossed the main sentiment and vine-y pieces onto black card stock. Then I stamped the little floral accent pieces first with white pigment ink, and then with various colored pigment inks (including the ones shown). I heat set each layer before adding the next.  Once everything was dry, I did some light ink blending with white pigment ink to give that dusty chalk effect. I die cut the panel and adhered it to a white card base.

Pigment inks are one of those things I got early on in my card making days, back when I had no idea what I was doing (a whole year ago – I was so young and naive then). It’s like when I first started knitting and was buying all this crazy “art” yarn. What was I thinking? Except with pigment inks, I’m starting to understand their purpose and why I’d want to use them. Still haven’t figured out those “art” yarns.

 

