The card aquatic

Bonus points if you get the title pun 🙂

Week 159 - AquaticThis week’s theme on CASology is “aquatic” and looking at all the entries, aquatic colors are the big source of inspiration for my fellow players. They are for me as well. I was such a beach baby, having been born on an island (Okinawa) and spending my formative years on the coast of Florida. I’m very drawn to aquas and turquoise and warm deep blues. So I too chose to play up those colors in my entry.

You're a life saver

I have not had great success with ink blending in the past, but I think I finally (finally) got a good blend with this card. I masked off sections of my card stock with Frog Tape and used the Hero Arts Ombre Pool to Navy ink pad with a mini ink blending tool from Ranger. If you haven’t used these ombre ink pads before, they’re basically separated into three ink pad strips and when you ink your stamp, it gives you a neat ombre effect. For the bottom section, I picked up ink from the lower two strips and blended them together on the cardstock. Then as I taped up sections moving up the card, I picked up ink from the upper two strips, then just the top strip and blended with less pressure to lighten and fade the color. I really like how water and ocean-like it ended up being. As my color strips got thinner, I made the white space thicker.

You're a life saver

For the sentiment, I paired “thanks” and “you’re a lifesaver” from the Sailing stamp set from Simon Says Stamp (included in the July card kit). And then I used some silver embossing powder with a chevron stamp (I’ve been searching all over Etsy for the shop where my mom got this, but I can’t find it anywhere EDIT: found it! Creatiate – beautiful stamps and earth-friendly packaging) to accentuate the sentiment. I then trimmed the cardstock and mounted with foam tape to my card base.

It took about 5 false starts to get to this card, mostly with watercolor. Thanks, ink blending, you’re a lifesaver!

6 thoughts on “The card aquatic

Comments are closed.