Flower Power

We have a little convenience store at work and sometimes I look at the cards while I’m buying my mid-afternoon snack. I saw a card that I didn’t particularly like, but it gave me an idea for a card to make. So I bought it. Do you ever do that?

When I finally sat down to make the card, this is what came out:

Untitled

I used the Build-able Blooms stamps and dies from My Favorite Things to, well, build all the blooms. I haven’t used this set much because I’m still building up my ink pad supply and didn’t have a lot of colors that I could use for layering. I still don’t but I did find a couple of Distress Inks that worked well together.

Missing from my “supply” photo is the Whip Cream card stock from MFT and the mustard yellow scalloped card stock from Papersource. I used the string stamp from the Avery Elle bunting/lanterns set to stand in as long stems. The stamp is very flexible so I could coax it into the various lines I wanted. The sentiment is from the Bloomers set from Papertrey Ink.

This is a card that I’m going to try again with a different flower stamp set. I like the mod/retro look of these flowers, but I’d like to experiment with different styles. Or maybe I just want an excuse to go stamp shopping.

