Watercolor, um, Thursday

Didn’t quite get my cards posted yesterday and I’m doing a drive-by post today, but I wanted to get these posted.

Inspired by this week’s Make it Monday post on the Papertrey Ink blog, I turned to the Wee Folk set from my tiny collection of PI dies and used them as stencils for watercoloring. Two takes with different effects. My first couple of attempts were rather, ahem, disasterous, but I was determined to get something I liked.

For the first one, I heat embossed the sentiment and used the cutout to create a negative space for the deer. And then I attempted a watercolor ombre effect, which is a bit more noticeable in person. Then I used a Zig Clean Color Real Brush to add the little details that you see in the stamped version. The pinks are much closer in color in person.

Untitled

I like this second one a bit better I think. I created a single die cut template to color in so that I only had to take the heat tool to it once. On a previous attempt, I used different stencils and using the heat in between warped the paper too much and the subsequent stencil didn’t adhere and it was a big ol’ mess underneath.

Untitled

I really like the muted, fuzzy effect of this technique with smaller stencils. I’m excited to try it with some scripty or bigger dies.

2 thoughts on “Watercolor, um, Thursday

  1. lexi says:

    two beautiful cards! i love the muted watercolor look too! great tip on creating one stencil rather than heating twice. thanks for playing!!

    Like

Comments are closed.