Cupcakes

CASology Week 155: CupcakesContinuing the birthday theme with a clean and simple cupcake card. This idea came about from and is being submitted to the CASology Week 155: Cupcake challenge.

I used cupcake stamps from Papertrey Ink’s Baker’s Dozen stamp set with Whip Cream cardstock from My Favorite Things and Zig Clean Color Real Brush markers to color the center cupcake.
cupcakes

Clean and simple, thanks to leaving all but the center cupcake as simple stamped outlines. I kept the coloring on the center cupcake pretty simple and spare as well.

The secret behind this card is the MISTI. There is pretty much no way I could line up nine cupcakes individually by hand. The MISTI allowed me to place all nine at once, line them up with my cardstock panel and then stamp once. And if I wanted to make more of these, then I could very easily do so because the stamps stay in place.  

cupcakes: lined up and inked

The other secret is using my favorite die-cutting technique (so far) – creating a window template to make lining the die up with the stamped image a breeze. Perfect cuts every time!

cupcakes: die window

I thought about making the center cupcake pop out of the panel, but decided instead to make it appear recessed. It’s more subtle and I kind of like that.  

cupcakes

Until next time!

One thought on “Cupcakes

Comments are closed.