Where does the time go?

Well, that didn’t last long, that start out of the gate. Blogging is sort of like exercise: When you miss a few days, it can be really hard to get back into it.

During my radio silence, we took a mini vacation to Canada where we celebrated the christening of a new baby cousin and the belated birthday of my mother in-law. We also got to play tourists in Toronto and went up the CN Tower.

(I am terrible with heights and if the CN Tower weren’t fully enclosed, I never would have made it up there. But I even ventured onto the glass floor!)

That was followed by the holiday weekend and that was followed by all sorts of busyness and very little crafting.

Somewhere in there, I got the June card kit from Simon Says Stamp and felt briefly motivated to play with it. I made two cards and then sort of forgot about them until this past weekend. So here they are!

Happy Birthday

I love the scripty “happy” from the stamp set. Here I stamped them using hybrid dye ink pads from My Favorite Things in PersimmonBlu Raspberry, and Black Licorice. The “birthday” stamp is from the Big Birthday Wishes stamp set.

Be Happy and Smile

This is a very simple card using the kit’s “smile” die. I layered it with rainbow striped paper from the Doodlebug Sunkissed sampler included in the kit and stamped sentiments with more Black Licorice hybrid dye ink.

I’ve only been subscribing to the Simon Says Stamp card kits for a few months, but I think this is definitely my favorite one so far. The July kit looks awesome too, though. I’m looking forward to stamping some white waves onto some navy cardstock, which is kind of, um, specific, I guess. But it reminds me of sashiko embroidery, which I love. So there you go.

I do have a few more cards to share, but let’s pace ourselves lest we run out of things to talk about 🙂

