Black plum lace socks

TTL Mystery Sock 2015

Today I have some knitting for you.

I started these socks (Ravelry link) back in January as part of a mystery knit along hosted by Kirsten Kapur of Through the Loops on Ravelry. I had participated in one of her knit alongs a few years ago and had a lot of fun anticipating each week’s clue and then quickly falling behind and finishing the socks a few months after the kal ended. This time around, I did the same thing. I’m nothing if not consistent.

TTL Mystery Sock 2015

I used Zen Yarn Garden’s Serenity 20, which is a lovely MCN (merino/cashmere/nylon) sock yarn – very soft but with the added durability of the nylon. Great stitch definition and generous yardage. I bought this yarn at Stitches Midwest in 2013, so this officially counts as a stashbusting project. (Oh hi, I could open a yarn store in my craft room, I’ve got so much yarn now)

zen yarn garden serenity 20

I learned a new technique for these socks – the German twisted cast-on. I usually have to go up a needle size or two for the cuff and upper part of the leg because my cast-on is just a bit too tight. The German twisted cast-on, however, gives a really nice, stretchy cuff – stretchy enough that I won’t have to up-size my needles anymore. Huzzah!

So, new hand knit socks, just in time for summer. Proof that making cards hasn’t completely taken over. Yet.